Acoustical study

Focalisation of the Dome

A vaulted shape carries a great risk of acoustical focalisation; the first reflections can come together in one point and thus render the acoustic field inhomogeneous. After 3D modelling the structure, we observed that the point of focalisation of the vault is situated well above the musicians. This therefore guarantees homogenous first reflections in the are of the stage, which will improve the clarity and the precision of the sound, as well as the mutual musical perception between the musicians.

Reverberation Time RT [s]

For this volume and this type of music, our aim is to exceed 1 second of reverberation at medium frequencies in order to create a sufficiently musical environment, and to maintain a precise acoustical experience.

Two hypotheses have been tested: the first with an entirely wooden building, and the second with an Alucobond Dome. The results clearly show the positive effects on the reverberation of the Room (increase of the RT and flatter curve in BF). We are planning an RT of 1.1 ~1.2s.

Sound Clarity C80 [dB]

The sound clarity is an acoustic criterion which allows us to characterise the clarity of musical perception of an orchestra. In other words: our capacity to hear the details, the different instruments, and all of the subtleties of a live performance. In our case, the proximity and the intimacy between the audience and the musicians is a great advantage for this criterion. We usually expect good values of C80 to be positive; we have an average of + 3~4 dB, which is very good.

Sound level in the Hallway

One of the goals of the architect is to create an indirect auditory experience when one walks through the Hallway. To do so, an opening in the upper part of the room is created in order to allow the sonic waves to reach the audience members present in this corridor. We can note a decrease of roughly 6~8 dB on average between the sound level close to the musicians compared to the elevated level in the Hallway, which allows for a largely audible indirect experience of the sound environment.

Reverberation time in the Hallway

The reverberation time in the Hallway is a little long but also a little less homogeneous in its frequencies. This promises an atypical experience which will be nonetheless very interesting. 

etude acoustique.heic

atypical sonic zone

focalisation zone

Étude acoustique

Focalisation du Dôme

Une forme voutée comporte un grand risque acoustique de focalisation ; les premières réflexions peuvent se concentrer en un point et ainsi rendre le champ sonore inhomogène. Après modélisation en 3D on nous avons observé que le point de focalisation de la voute se situe bien au dessus des musiciens. Cela garanti donc des réflexions précoces homogènes dans la zone de la scène, ce qui va améliorer la clarté, la précision, ainsi que l’écoute mutuelle entre musiciens.

Temps de Réverbération TR [s]

Pour ce volume et ce type de musique, notre objectif est de dépasser 1 s de réverbération aux fréquences moyennes afin d’avoir un environnement suffisamment musical et une écoute qui reste précise.
Deux hypothèses ont été testées : la première avec un bâtiment tout en bois, et la seconde avec le dôme réalisé en Alucobond. Les résultats montrent bien l’effet positif sur la réverbération de la salle (hausse du TR et courbe plus plate en BF). On prévoit un TR de 1.1~1.2 s.

Clarté Sonore C80 [dB]

La clarté sonore est un critère acoustique permettant de caractériser la clarté de l’écoute d’un orchestre, c’est-à-dire notre capacité à entendre les détails, les différents instruments, et toute la subtilité du jeu. Dans notre cas, la proximité et l’intimité entre le public et les musiciens est un grand avantage pour ce critère. Communément, de bonnes valeurs de C80 sont des valeurs positives ; nous avons une moyenne de + 3~4 dB, ce qui est très bon.

Niveau Sonore dans la Coursive

Une des volontés de l’architecte est de pouvoir permettre une écoute indirecte en se promenant dans la Coursive. Pour ce faire, un système d’ouverture en partie haute de la salle est réalisé afin de permettre aux ondes sonores d’aller atteindre le public présent dans ces couloirs. On peut noter une décroissance d’environ 6 ~ 8 dB en moyenne entre le niveau sonore proche des musiciens et le niveau relevé dans la Coursive, ce qui permet une écoute indirecte largement audible.

Temps de Réverbération dans la Coursive

Le temps de réverbération dans la Coursive est un peu plus long mais aussi un peu moins homogène en fréquences. Cela promet une écoute atypique mais néanmoins très intéressante.

zone d'écoute inedite

zone de focalisation

The flying Musick Room, au bon soin de la matrice

11, rue des martyrs Paris 9ème - theflyingmusickroom@gmail.com